Christmas Trees and Egg Nog

Without question my favorite time of year is Christmas.  I love the sounds.  I love the music.  I absolutely love the food.  I even love the Christmas specials on TV – well most of them anyway.  This morning I woke up at about 2 a.m. and wandered in to the kitchen to get something to drink.  I noticed that our Christmas tree was…well…leaning a bit.  Before you get confused and think that I am somehow lucid at 2 a.m. understand that we had forgotten to turn the lights off on the tree so it was basically the only light in the room.  As I began to really wake up I noticed how much our tree was leaning.  I had noticed it before but never really realized how dramatic the lean really was.  It was as though the tree had drunk a little too much of the egg nog and was failing a field sobriety test.  I confess I began to laugh quietly as this thought went through my mind, until I wondered if I was doing the same thing.

No I don’t mean that I was sauced on egg nog – hard or otherwise – but that I had slowly but surely allowed myself to get off kilter as it relates to what is really important at this time of year.  Am I spending so much time and money trying to get my kids something when what they really need more than something is someone?  Parents, let’s be honest with one another for a moment.  Over the past several weeks have you spent more time shopping for your kids than you have spent with your kids?  I don’t mean time that you have spent in their presence as they are doing their homework and you are watching the news.  I mean time really engaged with them – talking about their day, wrestling in the floor, letting them help you make dinner.  If I am brutally honest with myself, I don’t invest nearly enough time with my children.  What about you?  Have you bought in to all the junk about providing things for your kids but without ever really giving yourself to them?  If so, during this next week – the week of Christmas – let’s stop sipping the egg nog and get ourselves back on center.  Let’s remember that our kids need us much more than they will ever need stuff. 

God bless you and Merry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

