A Simply Profound Love

What exactly is Goofy?  I am not talking about the adjective that I use to describe the behavior of my children.  I am talking about Mickey Mouse’s friend.  What exactly is he?  I know it says a lot about why this blog is called Deep Thoughts from a Shallow Mind that I would wonder about such things, but nonetheless…  I have had many people tell me that he is supposed to be a dog, but that really doesn’t make sense to me.  If Goofy were a dog, then Pluto really got the short end of the stick.  Don’t misunderstand me, Pluto has a pretty good life.  But how much would it stink to be a dog with a good dog’s life only to look over and see another dog with a house, a car, and the ability to talk?!  No, I am convinced that Goofy must be something other than a dog.

In case you are wondering why I think that you care about my obsession with cartoons, there really is a point to this.  This past Saturday, I had the privilege of leading the halftime devotions during Upward Basketball at one of our partner churches.  As I prayed through what God would have me say, God continually led me back to simplicity.  So I kept it simple.  I simply shared with them that God loves each and every one of us and that He has an amazing plan for each of our lives.  Yet, God’s love is not like the lip-service that many of us have experienced.  Instead, God loved us so much that He demonstrated His love by sending His Son Jesus to die in our place.  I wish that I had the ability to read minds.  You see, many of the people that hung out and talked with me during the second half of the games or after the game was over somehow looked different after hearing that God loves them then they did before.  Some of the people who talked with me are Christ-followers that had simply gotten distracted by the insanity of modern life and the reminder of God’s love brought a peace and perspective back even if only for a few moments.  Others who spoke to me are not believers; they had heard a lot about church but as much about God’s relentless love for them. 

There are people all around you this week who desperately need to hear that God loves them.  They know about all the junk in their lives.  They know that they are far from perfect.  They don’t need you to point out all their flaws.  What they need to know is that God’s love for them is so great that “while we were yet sinners Christ died for us.”  They need to know that God’s love is so great that He loves them in spite of their sin.  They live their entire life wondering who they are, why they are here, and if there is any purpose in the life they are living.  They need us to help them encounter Jesus so that they can experience the incredible love that God has for them.  Then, after they have experienced God’s love, they need us to do whatever it takes to help make God’s amazing plan for their lives become a reality in their lives.  Take a moment and love the people God has placed around you by taking the time to remind them that God loves them.  Keep it simple and keep it real.  You don’t have to be creative.  You simply have to be genuine.

Leave a Reply

