Spinning Plates on Sticks

Have you ever gone through a time where you have been so busy that you didn’t even know which way was up?  If so, then you can identify with the past month or so in my life.  Life has been so insanely busy that I must confess that this shallow mind had no real time to come up with any deep thoughts.  I truly apologize for my failings but I think that we are on the other side of that time now.  The other day as I was preparing to teach on a Wednesday night, I stumbled upon a quote that has meant the world to me during this time of insanity.  The quote is from the great theologian Calvin from the Calvin and Hobbs comic strips.  The quote reads, “God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things.  Right now I am so far behind I’ll never die.”  Have you ever had those times?  I don’t mean times when you are just busy because of work, or your kid’s school schedule, or even the holidays.  I mean those times when you are so busy that you cannot even do those things that you know God has created and called you to do.  If you have never experienced that then I need you to come and work with my time management skills. 

Honestly, though most of us struggle with how to balance and invest our time.  We are like that person who balances plates in the air on sticks and keeps those plates spinning.  Everything is okay as long as we can keep those plates spinning, but if anything goes wrong or if anything takes longer than expected, then our world of spinning plates comes crashing down and makes a tremendous mess.  I must confess I had been so busy that my kids were in desperate need of “Daddy time.”  We are getting caught up now and life is getting back to normal – whatever that is exactly.  I tell you all of this to simply remind you of what is really important.  You see, while the Calvin and Hobbs quote above is, honestly, hilarious, we all only have a certain number of days on this earth.  You cannot increase the number of your days and neither can you decrease them.  But you can control how you utilize those days.  I don’t know about you but as I evaluated the things that made my life so insanely busy the simple reality is that most of those things won’t really matter in five years.  If something won’t matter in five years, is it honestly that important?  Is it honestly worth getting all that stressed about?  Be smarter than I am and redeem the time.  Invest your time in your family and friends.  Invest your time in growing the Kingdom of God.  If something has to slide let’s sacrifice the things that don’t matter so that we can really impact those things that do matter.  God has only provided you with a certain number of days and a certain amount of time to accomplish only so many things.  Use them wisely!

Leave a Reply

