Enraptured

Those of you who know me know that I am a tremendous basketball fan.  I must confess that I am totally enraptured by this whole NBA free-agent class.  I am totally amazed at the length to which people and teams have gone to try to woo these basketball superstars to put on their uniform and play for them.  Some of these teams – see the New York Knicks – have sacrificed two entire seasons because someone in the front office has a “man crush” on LeBron James.  Understand I am a basketball fan and I get how good this guy is, but is any player really worth tanking two seasons?  Oddly enough, while I am totally enraptured with this whole free agent thing, I am also a bit repelled by it.  The past week or so has been completely covered with what team made this cartoon to depict LeBron and his friends to help recruit him to play for them.  I mean seriously.  Has there ever been a more publicized courtship in all of American history?  These basketball executives are throwing everything including the kitchen sink and disposal to try to woo this man.  The funny thing is that this whole thing is not much different than a group of middle school boys when a cute new girl moves into their class.  I must confess that I know nothing about being wooed like that, but honestly I am not remotely jealous or envious.  You see, nearly 2000 years ago, God Himself loved me enough to be clothed with flesh to come and die in my place so that I could have a relationship with Him.  Truthfully, He came and died for you, and for the entire world, as well.  While you and I may not be important enough in the world’s eyes to experience such public wooing.  We can always rest assured that God went to greater lengths than we can really imagine to demonstrate His love for you and me.  Now that kind of love is something about which to be enraptured.

One response to “Enraptured

  1. Very good article, I think we sometimes forget just how important we are to Christ.

Leave a Reply

